Home Detail News

ANC Badminton Championship concludes

Port Blair ,

    ANC Badminton Championship 2016-17 was held from 20-24 Jun  at Coast Guard Indoor Complex (CGISC), Haddo. The championship was conducted by Coast Guard Region (A&N) in four categories viz. Men's Single, Men's Double, Women Single and Mixed Double and was open to all services personnel of A&N Command.  Around 68 participants comprising of players from Army, Navy, Air Force and Coast Guard took part in the Championship. 
In the women's category Assistant Commandant Sweta Rana of Coast Guard was winner and Lieutenant Gauri Soman of Navy was runner up. Yogesh, Leading Seaman of Navy won the Men's Single category while Ginto Kuriachan, Pradhan Yantrik of Coast Guard was runner up. 
   Assistant Commandant Manoj Parki and Janaki Rao, Chowkidar of Coast Guard took away the Men's Double category title and Colonel VVS Dhahia and Major Atul Rawat of Army were runners up. Smt. Anita Sanghwan and Major Atul Rawat of Army were winners of the mixed Double category and Mrs Morma Bharti and Mohit Pandey of Navy were runners up.
   Shri Raajiv Yaduvanshi, Principal Secretary (Revenue/Sports) was the Chief Guest for the finals and the Prize Distribution ceremony.  The event was also attended by the senior Officers, Service Personnel and their families from all the components of the unified A&N Command.
Speaking on the occasion, Shri Raajiv Yaduvanshi congratulated all the winners of the championship and participants  for the spirit of jointmanship and synergy. He stated the matches were keenly contested and in sports all are winners.