Home Detail News

State School Chess Championship 2022 held: Around 100 chess players participate

Port Blair ,

      More than 100 chess players from various schools of Andaman and 
Nicobar Islands enthusiastically participated in the State School Chess Championship 2022 organized by ANCA at the auditorium of JNRM today. Shri. Kamlesh Kumar, Director, Sports, A & N Administration who was the chief guest of the inauguration ceremony made the first move on the top board to kick start the event. 
      In the championship, D. Dhruva Kumar of Carmel SSS won the first position in Under-17 (Boys) while K. Harsith of VKV Lamba Line stood second. Similarly, in Under-17 (Girls), Kashthuri Bhai of  GDMS Senior Secondary stood first while B. Kavya of Nirmala SSS bagged the second position. In Under-13 (Boys), Yuvan Singh of Carmel SSS won first position while Shrestha Vijay of Carmel SSS stood second position. In Under-13 (Girls), A.V. Saraniya of KEMS won first position while Tanisha Raj of VKV Lamba Line bagged second position. In Under-11 (Boys), SPM Tarun of Carmel SSS stood first while Ronnie Ronaldo of Sagaritara School won second position. In Under-11 (Girls), Kavya Raj of VKV Lamba Line stood first while S. Varanya of KV-I bagged second position. In Under-9 (Boys), J.S. Virat of VKV Lamba Line won first position while Shrihaan Karmakar of KV-II stood second. In Under-9 (Girls), Parnita of Carmel SSS bagged first position while D. Charvi of VKV Lamba Line stood second.
    Prize distribution ceremony was held in the evening during which Trophies and Certificates for winners and runners were awarded by Shri Biswanath Sen, Assistant Director (Sports), Directorate of Education as the chief guest. Apart from this, prizes were also awarded to the best youngest players in boys and girls namely Utkarsh Rathour and Vanshika Rao, a press release from ANCA said.