Home Detail News

3rd Inter Zonal State Level School Football Knockout Tourney gets underway Hutbay defeates Mayabunder by 14-0 in inaugural match

Port Blair ,

      The 3rd Inter Zonal State Level School Football Knockout Tournament 2016 (Subroto Mukherjee Football Development Programme) for U-14 (Boys) and U-17 (Boys & Girls), organised by the Directorate of Education in collaboration with Dept. of Sports & Youth Affairs and SAI, got underway this evening at Netaji Stadium. The Principal Secretary (Edn.), A & N Administration, Shri. Raajiv Yaduvanshi was the chief guest and declared the tournament open by hoisting the flag on the occasion. The Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Shipping, Shri Sanjiv Khirwar, Secretary (Edn.), Smti Tanvi Garg and Director (Sports), Shri Ingit Pratap were also present on the occasion. 
   In his inaugural address, the chief guest stated that football is a very popular game in the Islands and reiterated the need to improve the standard of football in Isles. He said 432 players and 54 officials from 9 educational zones, right from Diglipur to Campbell Bay, are participating in the tournament. Encouraging the players, he remarked, "winning or losing does not matter, but participation is what counts and it will go a long way". He also bestowed his best wishes on all the players and urged them to play fair. 
   The chief guest also released the technical bulletin and unveiled the championship trophy and handed it over to the Director Sports on the occasion. This was followed by inspection of the team and handing over of the match ball to the referee by the chief guest. 
   Kumar Parvez Musharaf of Govt. Boys Sr. Sec. School led the team leaders from 9 educational zones in the oath taking ceremony. In an exciting inaugural match played today for U-17 (Boys), Hutbay defeated Mayabunder by 14-0. The match was witnessed by a large gathering of school students, teachers and principals of various schools. 
     The tournament which began today will be played at Netaji Stadium and JNRM Football Ground from July 29th to August 02nd, 2016. As many as 432 players, (144 girls) and (288 boys) and 54 officials from Nine Educational Zones from all over the Islands are participating in the Championship. 
    Earlier, welcoming the gathering, the Secretary Education, Smti Tanvi Garg remarked that the next few days will witness exciting matches played between players from 9 educational zones. The champion team of the tournament would represent Islands in the Subroto Cup Soccer Championship at the National Level, she said. 
  The inaugural tournament concluded with the vote of thanks proposed by DDE (Science) Shri Mammen Thomas.